e g r e g o r e s

"Graciously bestow upon all men felicity, the summit of which is the knowledge of the Gods." [Julian, Oration to the Mother of the Gods]

Are The 90s Cool Now??

I’ve noticed some local radio stations are playing set lists from “the 90s”. Are the 90’s cool now? Hmmmmm.

Think about it. The economy was good. We weren’t at war. The president was cool and smart and wildly popular (while still being viciously hated by all the right people). Apartheid ended. Communism fell in Europe. Medical marijuana was legalized in California. Peace broke out in Northern Ireland. The internet was invented. Apple turned around.

In terms of popular culture: Kevin Spacey was in both The Usual Suspects and American Beauty, Quentin Tarentino made both Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction, Robert Altman made both The Player and Short Cuts, Joss Whedon created both Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel.

One local station recently played a one hour (“The 90’s at Noon
“) set list that included:

  • Mighty Mighty Bosstones – The Impression That I Get
  • Offspring – Self Esteem
  • Save Ferris – Come On Eileen
  • Smashing Pumpkins – Today
  • Nada Surf – Popular

Damn, that was good music back in the 90s! I could have added several more: Soundgarden’s Burden In My Hand, Paula Cole’s Where Have All The Cowboys Gone?, Smashing Pumpkins’ 1979, Third Eye Blind’s Semi-Charmed Life, etc.

2 responses to “Are The 90s Cool Now??

  1. Arturo Vasquez July 25, 2011 at 7:09 am

    My favorite radio station is one out of Baton Rouge that plays music “for Generation X”. Being in my early 30’s, I barely make the cut, but this station plays songs that I haven’t heard since college. Like the previous commenter said, who would have known that the ’90’s was the golden age of my youth? Compared to today, we had is way easier, but that didn’t stop us from being cynical and angry. (I was a Marxist activist in the late ’90’s, though I was all of sixteen. Go figure.) My wife occasionally forces me to watch old episodes of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Beverly Hills 90210, and My So-Called Life. Talk about giving one nostalgia.

    At least all of this is not this:

    I haven’t seen this show, but I imagine it’s pretty funny.

  2. Kauko July 22, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    I’ve been saying for years now how much I miss the 90s, that mythical time back before the whole world went to shit.

Leave a Reply

